NZQA

In 2019, dates for MCAT are Tuesday 17 and Thursday 19 September. Guidelines for administration for the MCAT will be published on the Mathematics subject page and communicated by circular.

Examinations

ALL NCEA (levels 1–3) and New Zealand Scholarship examination sessions are three hours.

All exam sessions start at either 9.30 am or 2.00 pm.

Examination timetable 2019

Download the 2019 examination timetable.

Date / TimeNCEA Level 2
Fri 8 Nov 9.30 am Physics
  2.00 pm German
WEEKEND
Mon 11 Nov 9.30 am Music
2.00 pm Chemistry
Tues 12 Nov 9.30 am English **
2.00 pm Te Reo Maori
Wed 13 Nov 9.30 am  
2.00 pm Media Studies **
Thurs 14 Nov 9.30 am  
2.00 pm Geography
Canterbury Anniversary Day
WEEKEND
Mon 18 Nov 9.30 am Chinese
2.00 pm Health **
Tues 19 Nov 9.30 am Biology
2.00 pm Home Economics **
Wed 20 Nov 9.30 am  
2.00 pm Drama
Thurs 21 Nov 9.30 am Mathematics & Statistics
2.00 pm Accounting
Fri 22 Nov 9.30 am  
2.00 pm Economics
WEEKEND
Mon 25 Nov 9.30 am History **
2.00 pm Agricultural & Horticultural Science **
Tues 26 Nov 9.30 am Business Studies **
2.00 pm  
Wed 27 Nov 9.30 am Earth & Space Science
2.00 pm Japanese
Thurs 28 Nov 9.30 am Art History **
2.00 pm Spanish
Fri 29 Nov 9.30 am Social Studies **
2.00 pm Sāmoan / Education for Sustainability **
WEEKEND
Mon 2 Dec 9.30 am Dance
  2.00 pm Classical Studies **
Tues 3 Dec 9.30 am French
  2.00 pm Te Reo Rangatira / Latin **

** Assessment also offered digitally

Submission dates for portfolios and reports 

DateNCEA Level 1NCEA Level 2NCEA Level 3Scholarship
Wed 23 Oct Visual Arts      
Wed 30 Oct   Visual Arts    
Wed 30 Oct Design and Visual Communication /
Technology
Design and Visual Communication /
Technology
Design and Visual Communication /
Education for Sustainability /
Technology
Dance /
Design and Visual Communication /
Physical Education /
Technology / Music
Thurs 7 Nov     Visual Arts Visual Arts

Note: These are the deadlines for schools to submit materials to NZQA. Students should confirm dates for submission within their schools.