NZQA

In 2019, dates for MCAT are Tuesday 17 and Thursday 19 September. Guidelines for administration for the MCAT will be published on the Mathematics subject page and communicated by circular.

Examinations

ALL NCEA (levels 1–3) and New Zealand Scholarship examination sessions are three hours.

All exam sessions start at either 9.30 am or 2.00 pm.

Examination timetable 2019

Download the 2019 examination timetable.

Date / TimeNCEA Level 3
Fri 8 Nov 9.30 am Business Studies **
  2.00 pm Dance
WEEKEND
Mon 11 Nov 9.30 am Media Studies **
2.00 pm Agricultural & Horticultural Science ** / German / Chinese
Tues 12 Nov 9.30 am  
2.00 pm Biology
Wed 13 Nov 9.30 am  
2.00 pm Home Economics **
Thurs 14 Nov 9.30 am Making Music
2.00 pm Chemistry
Canterbury Anniversary Day
WEEKEND
Mon 18 Nov 9.30 am French
2.00 pm Economics
Tues 19 Nov 9.30 am Geography
2.00 pm Classical Studies **
Wed 20 Nov 9.30 am  
2.00 pm Physics
Thurs 21 Nov 9.30 am  
2.00 pm History **
Fri 22 Nov 9.30 am English **
2.00 pm  
WEEKEND
Mon 25 Nov 9.30 am Health **
2.00 pm Sāmoan
Tues 26 Nov 9.30 am Calculus
2.00 pm Accounting
Wed 27 Nov 9.30 am Drama
2.00 pm Te Reo Rangatira / Social Studies ** / Psychology
Thurs 28 Nov 9.30 am Statistics
2.00 pm Earth & Space Science
Fri 29 Nov 9.30 am Music Studies
2.00 pm Te Reo Māori / Latin
WEEKEND
Mon 2 Dec 9.30 am Art History **
  2.00 pm  
Tues 3 Dec 9.30 am Spanish
  2.00 pm Japanese

** Assessment also offered digitally

Submission dates for portfolios and reports 

DateNCEA Level 1NCEA Level 2NCEA Level 3Scholarship
Wed 23 Oct Visual Arts      
Wed 30 Oct   Visual Arts    
Wed 30 Oct Design and Visual Communication /
Technology
Design and Visual Communication /
Technology
Design and Visual Communication /
Education for Sustainability /
Technology
Dance /
Design and Visual Communication /
Physical Education /
Technology / Music
Thurs 7 Nov     Visual Arts Visual Arts

Note: These are the deadlines for schools to submit materials to NZQA. Students should confirm dates for submission within their schools.