NZQA

Examinations

ALL NCEA (levels 1–3) and New Zealand Scholarship examination sessions are three hours.

All exam sessions start at either 9.30 am or 2.00 pm.

Examination timetable 2019

Download the 2019 examination timetable.

Date / Time   Scholarship
Fri 8 Nov 9.30 am       Calculus
  2.00 pm       Agricultural & Horticultural Science
WEEKEND
Mon 11 Nov 9.30 am       Accounting
2.00 pm       English
Tues 12 Nov 9.30 am        
2.00 pm       Economics
Wed 13 Nov 9.30 am        
2.00 pm       Statistics
Thurs 14 Nov 9.30 am       History
2.00 pm       Te Reo Rangatira
Canterbury Anniversary Day
WEEKEND
Mon 18 Nov 9.30 am       Drama
2.00 pm        
Tues 19 Nov 9.30 am        
2.00 pm       Japanese
Wed 20 Nov 9.30 am       Biology
2.00 pm       Art History
Thurs 21 Nov 9.30 am       Classical Studies
2.00 pm       French
Fri 22 Nov 9.30 am        
2.00 pm       Geography 
WEEKEND
Mon 25 Nov 9.30 am       Physics
2.00 pm       Te Reo Māori / Latin
Tues 26 Nov 9.30 am        
2.00 pm       Media Studies 
Wed 27 Nov 9.30 am       Chemistry
2.00 pm       Sāmoan
Thurs 28 Nov 9.30 am        
2.00 pm        
Fri 29 Nov 9.30 am       Spanish
2.00 pm       Chinese 
WEEKEND
Mon 2 Dec 9.30 am       Earth & Space Science
  2.00 pm       German
Tues 3 Dec 9.30 am        
  2.00 pm        

Submission dates for portfolios and reports 

DateNCEA Level 1NCEA Level 2NCEA Level 3Scholarship
Wed 23 Oct Visual Arts      
Wed 30 Oct   Visual Arts    
Wed 30 Oct Design and Visual Communication /
Technology
Design and Visual Communication /
Technology
Design and Visual Communication /
Education for Sustainability /
Technology
Dance /
Design and Visual Communication /
Physical Education /
Technology / Music
Thurs 7 Nov     Visual Arts Visual Arts

Note: These are the deadlines for schools to submit materials to NZQA. Students should confirm dates for submission within their schools.